Skip to content

Week 3 already: Dusting off and Ramping up the EVO 2012 Multiliteracies Blog

January 24, 2012

Real life has a way of imposing on our virtual ones.  These days there is much to impose on.

The latest rendition of the EVO Multiliteracies course for 2012 has been going on for more than two weeks now using http://goodbyegutenberg.pbworks.com as a portal.  Participants oriented gamely in week 1, but were less outgoing about declaring, through declarations did trickle in in the form of web handles, and this is leading us into the Networking phase of our course.

Some participants filled in the form for the EVO 2012 session at 

http://goodbyegutenberg.pbworks.com/w/page/45188877/2012participant_form

and this put their names and network handles in our datatbase here:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj1610-nt0u4dDE3cHNWYXJidUEwbFNxVWV0NnZKa3c&hl=en_US#gid=0

From this I’ve created a Skype list. It was tedious because first I had to add everyone listed to my contacts list before I could then add them to the EVOMLIT list, which I’ve now done for everyone who left a Skype ID.  So far only Scottlo has responded on it.  Meanwhile I’ve added everyone who gave a Twitter ID to a Twitter list here: https://twitter.com/#!/list/VanceS/evomlit. If you want to see if you are on it you can send a tweet with the hash tag #evomlit.  Your tweet should appear in a search on tweets labeled evomlit; i.e. https://twitter.com/#!/search/evomlit as well as on the EVOMLIT list.

Whenever I can gather a group of participants I like to experiment to see how these things work because I like to use these techniques with my real live students, and of course the way WE learn about them is to try them out.  How else would we learn such things, except through trial, error, and observation.

We have also held a couple of very nice live sessions, attended by a number of Multiliteracies participants:

One thing I’ve had decent success with is Posterous blogs.  They are one of the best for group work (networking with your group).  There are two dozen members here and all are contributors.  If you want to join just go to http://multiliteracies.posterous.com and subscribe.  When I see that multiliteracies participants have done that I’ll promote you to contributor. Then you’ll be able to post here, and other subscribers SHOULD get your post as an email.  They can reply to the email to comment on your post.  In practice this allows your class or group such as this one to hold conversations around blog posts.  Again, you have to try it to see how it works.

I think this blog will be my ePortfolio for this course.  There is one odd thing about posting here.  Posters are not identified.  So make sure you sign your posts, otherwise we won’t know who they are from.  This one is from — Vance

 

 

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    Thank you Vance. I’m afraid I’ve been lurking on the periphery with little clue what to do! I’m busy teaching, so I haven’t so much time to dig around and find out. That is the challenge of the MOOT type course, I guess. So much is left up to the individual, and you don’t really know where to start. I’ve joined things or groups within groups that I was already in, but not known what to do next.I have you as a Skype contact OK.See you through the next couple of weeks all being well,Annie B

  2. Anonymous permalink

    Experimental reply from Annie B to see if it works like you said in the Skype! ??See you!

  3. Anonymous permalink

    This is learning anything and any time, when you are ready. Incidentally I stand corrected on the anonymity of our posts, they are attributed here: http://screencast.com/t/HQxNneipT

  4. Anonymous permalink

    <html><body><div style="color:#000; background-color:#fff; font-family:arial, helvetica, sans-serif;font-size:12pt"><div>For those busy elsewhere online, probably most of us, week’s end (or beginning of the next) might be a good time to look around those other online endeavors / tasks / projects for ones we could legitimately link to this network. Inventory your other networks, hubs within, nodes to cultivate, weak connections withing that could be stronger, and so on. You may be more "declared" than you realize and just need to make the connection (that pattern recognition thing), strengthen network connections.&nbsp;</div><div><br></div><div>I started this reply just past 6:30 am but am only just now (11:30 am) getting back to it. There’s always email and the feed reader to check mornings. Posterous’ comment by email feature, a real time saver, lets me comment without having to go to another site. Ditto Facebook, several personal but most to other MOOC and ed related groups. Node tending. Cultivating the ecology. I checked out some Change11 related links and shared several, not all with other moocs or mooc rats either. Most go to unrelated (or&nbsp;<span style="font-size: 12pt; ">seemingly so)&nbsp;</span><span style="font-size: 12pt; ">networks, strengthening a weak connection or establishing one.</span></div><div><span style="font-size: 12pt; "><br></span></div><div>Nor is there a clear line between daily life and learning. Retired but occupied with blogs and projects, there is no need to look for one or for a schedule to shuttle me between one and the other. Distractions can be a problem but, frankly, more welcome than not.&nbsp;</div><div><br></div><div>Tools and such fall mostly into mostly aggregation and curating content for blogs, pages and projects.&nbsp;</div><div><ul><li><span style="font-size: 12pt; ">Using a lot: Blogger, Google Reader, iGoogle, Facebook (groups and pages), Twitter, Scoop.it, Delicious and email (not dead yet nor by a long shot)&nbsp;?? groups.&nbsp;</span></li><li><span style="font-size: 12pt; ">Have used / still "there" but need to revisit, tweak/update, think about new and better ways to use: static webpage (yes, even that), Posterous, NetVibes, About.me, Flickr, YouTube, Paper.li, Diigo, &nbsp;Google+</span></li><li><span style="font-size: 12pt; ">Recently I have been trying out Tumblr, Pinterest, Twitter chat/Tweet Chat, Twitter management apps (3 very active accounts).&nbsp;</span></li><li><span style="font-size: 12pt; ">Registered with and on the list to try out: Bo.lt,&nbsp;Amplify,&nbsp;Storify and no doubt others I don’t recall. Forgetting is its own kind of filter…</span><br></li></ul><div>At some point I should decide which should be the main page/ portal for PLN (a small voice keeps asking, Why just one?)</div><div><br></div></div><div><span style="font-size: 12pt; ">What else, other areas, networks? None discrete, all overlapping, some more than others. Did I mention local? Local (news, community service, organizations, education), professional (higher ed, PD, networking, advocacy), arts and letters, avocation (former profession, still involved), activist.</span><br></div><div><span style="font-size: 12pt; "><br></span></div><div><span style="font-size: 12pt; ">And then incorporating / weaving them into the same PLENK / online portfolio / whatever</span></div><div><span style="font-size: 12pt; "><br></span></div><div><span style="font-size: 12pt; "><br></span></div><div><br></div> <div style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; "> <div style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: ‘times new roman’, ‘new york’, times, serif; "> <div dir="ltr"> <font size="2" face="Arial"></div></div></div></div></body></html>

  5. Anonymous permalink

    <div dir="ltr">I like this …?? <span style="font-family:Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:18px;line-height:24px">You may be more &quot;declared&quot; than you realize</span>??<div><br></div><div>I you check out the YahooGroup traffic it all appears one-sided, as if I were operating in a vacuum. Somehow I know that this is not so, that there is a weakly declared network out there. ??Fascinating to me that Posterous has brought some out of their carrels. In this metaphor I'm thinking of periferal members (aka lurkers) as being something akin to serious readers in a library. ??Silence does not imply apathy.</div> <div><br></div><div>Anyway I do find in practice that the blend of blog and email (not dead yet, not by a long shot 🙂 does stimulate conversations … as does the Skype list. ??These things are ineffable. ??The great opportunity of ??an online event such as EVO is the opportunity to experiment with the network, see what stimulates it, what circuits are most productive, how it hangs together, and how we can apply outcomes of these experiments to what we want to accomplish in our daily lives.</div> <div><br></div><div>This is what we learn from MOOCs. ??Dave Cormier makes an excellent point in one of his videos, what you get from a MOOC is the network. Future learning comes from the network. ??Siemens helps us to realize how important that is. ??Time to check out his videos at <a href="http://goodbyegutenberg.pbworks.com">http://goodbyegutenberg.pbworks.com</a&gt;, if you haven't already. Then we can look at some of the changes that <a href="http://change.mooc.ca">http://change.mooc.ca</a&gt; is moving to accomplish.</div> <div><br></div><div>^V^</div><div><br></div></div>

  6. Anonymous permalink

    Here is a blog I started at my first online course "Blogs for Teachers" a couple of years ago. I cleaned it up and used it for "Podcasting" at EVO last year. And this year I’m using it to take notes from Evomlit and Classdigitools.http://anniebtlw.blogspot.com/There isn’t much there from this year, but there are still a couple of weeks left! :-)Annie B

  7. Anonymous permalink

    <div dir="ltr">I like your blog Annie. ??I think I've seen those chimes before but of course I couldn't resist playing them, and I loved your animoto of snow in Alsace. ??I also appreciate that you started an ePortfolio with podcasting in 2011 and that you are updating it with content from other EVO courses this year. ??I especially appreciate that you are sharing it with evomlit participants as it helps us to learn from other sessions as well as this one.<div> <br></div><div>I bookmarked it in Delicious and thought it might come up in Spezify. ??<a href="http://spezify.com/#/evomlit">http://spezify.com/#/evomlit</a&gt;??is starting to gather content from our current session, and I was pleased to note that Tamas, Scottlo, and Indrit are featured prominently at another RSS aggregator, here:</div> <div><a href="http://addictomatic.com/topic/evomlit">http://addictomatic.com/topic/evomlit</a&gt;??</div><div><br></div><div>So much for Declaration. ??I'm replying to the notice of this comment in our Posterous blog and cc'ing to the YahooGroup so as to hit that space as well. ??In another post soon I intend to talk up networks of interest (MOOCs and others), the topic for this week, hopefully before bedtime here in Abu Dhabi, Wed night.</div> <div><br></div><div>Vance</div><div><br></div></div>

  8. Anonymous permalink

    I just have to say that I finally made the decision to create my e- portfolio on posterous. Last week (Week 2 ) my duties and doubts about doing things in this session were not my best allies to declare. I will start using it as Vance has suggested. Many things to come… My new blog in construction is..http://teachopevomlit.posterous.com

  9. Anonymous permalink

    <html><body><div style="color:#000; background-color:#fff; font-family:bookman old style, new york, times, serif;font-size:12pt"><div><span>Nora ~ one thing (but not the only one) to bear in mind about (m)e-portfolios in an open, autonomous learner focused course is that you can always change directions at any time… just keep moving.&nbsp;</span></div><div><span><br></span></div><div><span>I use Posterous a lot, mostly to support blog network, so far not as a portfolio, but look forward to following yours and picking up more ideas on how to use Posterous.&nbsp;</span></div><div><span><br></span></div><div><span>In our tireless and never-ending search for new tools, it’s easy to lose track of new ways to use familiar ones. Evomlit sessions have been real eye openers for me on that score, expanding how I used both Delicious and Google Reader.&nbsp;</span></div><div><span><br></span></div><div><span>Vanessa</span></div><div><br></div> <div style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: ‘bookman old style’, ‘new york’, times, serif; "> <div style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: ‘times new roman’, ‘new york’, times, serif; "> <div dir="ltr"> <font size="2" face="Arial"></div></div></div></div></body></html>

  10. Anonymous permalink

    Vance, I’ve noticed that some courses, I use one communication mode or app more than another. The next course or next iteration of same course, I might use a yet another or go back to an earlier one I did not use so much last time. I wish I could say why but cannot. Maybe it is how the class starts and what "foot" I get off on. No doubt, set up and convenience are major factors as would be preferences for the rest of the class. Sometimes it is a conscious decision: I will comment more; I will tweet more; I will remember to tag tweets and bookmarks… and so on.I suspect flexibility and being comfortable with shifting between modes and apps is another useful skill for following open courses and characteristic of the autonomous learner.

  11. Anonymous permalink

    <html><head></head><body bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div>I think this is an observation many of us come to. Be it in the classroom or our own professional learning. Tools come and go, the desire to communicate remains. Finding, experimenting with new communication tools is like getting to know new methods of teaching. You find one you like, you use it in one class and works beautifully while in others it’s a disaster. The community you communicate with and the environment in which you communicate determines the means. And it’s so much fun as long as you learn not to be determined by you tools but your message.</div><div>I love looking through all the tools you have been using on previous incarnations of this course. I learn a lot from this side of the experience too.</div><div><br></div><div>Tamas Lorincz (@tamaslorincz)<br><br>Sent from my iPhone</div><div><br></div></body></html>

Leave a Reply

