Skip to content

adding files to my posts in posterous

September 18, 2011

Hi everyone,

Since we are still in the week in which we declare our goals for this course, I was thinking of attaching my portfolio, which I prepared for Qatar University. The idea was to write a new one at the end of this course and then compare both portfolios. Any change would reveal the impact this course and the interaction with others has had on me and my teaching. BUT I cannot attach my portfolio to my new post in my blog (it appears in the new post but I cannot open the file). Any ideas?

Thank you
Indrit

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    <div dir="ltr">Hi Indrit, your goal for the course sounds personally beneficial to you and appropriate for what we wish to accomplish together??over the next two weeks??of the course. ??<div><br></div><div>Regarding attaching it, the fact that you can't open it reveals the problems that others might have with a file of this type, which means that in attached format it will likely not be widely read (if it's a word document, many would be wary of touching it, since Office documents can contain macros, or visual basic scripts that will run on the computer that opens them).</div> <div><br></div><div>If it's a word document, you could import it into Google Docs and then publish it to the web so that it will have a URL you can link to. ??You could also convert it to PDF which again will open (almost) seamlessly in in a browser. ??You could also copy / paste the relevant contents and put just those in your blog, highlighting the parts of your portfolio that you would like (you and us) to focus on.</div> <div><br></div><div>Now we are coming to the end of the declaration week and into the networking and clustering phases of courses run on the MOOC model. ??So I will be making sure I have your blogs and links I should be following in my Google Reader, and I'll probably put them into some other aggregating space as well. ??</div> <div><br></div><div>Can you please all be sure that you have ALL (addressed now to all participants) updated our database in the document &quot;2011 pp107 Multiliteracies participant links&quot;. ??You should find this document shared with you in your list of files at Google Documents. If you can't find it there let me know (I shared it with all participants whose gmail addresses I could discern from data they entered on the form). ??When you open the file in Google Docs you should be able to update any information there you wish. (If you have not created a record here, then start with the form??<a href="http://goodbyegutenberg.pbworks.com/w/page/45188877/2011pp107form">http://goodbyegutenberg.pbworks.com/w/page/45188877/2011pp107form</a&gt;)</div> <div><br></div><div>I'm teaching a writing class at the moment and applying many of the techniques I'm using in creating a wiki-based content management system for them. I share Google Docs with them and yesterday one of my students was viewing one in class and somehow managed to delete almost all the content there. ??If you are careful to share your docs with registered editors then you can look in the history to (1) see who created the havoc, and (2) restore the file in a click to its pre-havoc state. ??Gotta love Google Docs!</div> <div><br></div><div>Another way I'm finding that Posterous and Yahoo groups go together is when I get an email like this because I subscribe to Indrit's Posterous blog, I can not only reply by email, but cc to??<a href="mailto:multilit@yahoogroups.com">multilit@yahoogroups.com</a>. That posts it as a comment in Indrit's Posterous and also posts to the Multilit YGroup list. ??I use the multilit Yahoo Group because that's where our community is for the last 8 years, but if I were starting over now I'd create a Google Group and reduce the number of logins. However, if you have a Yahoo account you therefore have a login for Delicious. ??How many of you are using Delicious or Diigo? Would anyone like to know more about those tools?</div> <div><br></div><div>Vance</div><div><br></div><div>Vance</div><div><br><br></div></div>

  2. indritb permalink

    Thank you Vance for the detailed explanation. It was really helpful.

Leave a Reply

