Skip to content

Multiliteracies course starting for TESOL PP107 Sept 5 to Oct 2, 2011

September 5, 2011

Today, Sept 5, 2011, we start the latest rendition of Multiliteracies for Social Networking and Collaborative Learning Environments: This course is part of TESOL’s Principles and Practices of Online Teaching Certificate Program; see http://www.tesol.org/s_tesol/sec_document.asp?CID=664&DID=2642.

The course in its several renditions has accumulated a network of past participants who have taken previous TESOL or EVO Multiliteracies courses, and I always invite them to join us if they wish.  In networked learning, it takes a network! (a PLN).

However, MY focus in this course is on the registered participants. In this respect this course emulates recent MOOC events, which are often conceived as university courses for tuition-paying students, but in order to enrich the experience for those enrolled, the course is offered to anyone (massively), it’s open (free for anyone to participate in), and online.

Because the course is open, anyone can join the network of present and past participants here: http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/multilit/

This year there are 6 participants enrolled in the TESOL certification course but another 250 enrolled in that YahooGroup. It is not likely that more than a handful will interact with us, but those that do will bring us fresh perspectives and broaden our understanding of what we do here.

I have revised the portal http://goodbyegutenberg.pbworks.com/ to act as a content manager for the course.  To get started on the course, read (watch, listen to) this: http://goodbyegutenberg.pbworks.com/GettingStarted2011pp107

We have a calendar of events that is constantly being added to.  It has some events we have arranged for this course, especially our noon Sunday GMT sessions at http://tappedin.org. You can come here to find us online ready to answer questions.  We are also arranging events for 13:00 GMT in various presentation venues each Sunday.  You can find the schedule of events at this wiki, http://learning2gether.pbworks.com/volunteersneeded

I posted a version of this notice to the PP107 portal in Desire to Learn (for the benefit of the paid TESOL participants) and I’m also posting it here to our Posterous blog.

I am interested in posterous for a number of reasons.  For one thing, I was able to import all but the most recent blog postings from our Ning to here.  I wasn’t able to get the latest ones because the Posterous import tool no longer works, I’ve written Posterous help, they’ve responded, but they seem unable to fix it so far.

For another reason, Posterous has many features that make it conversational for small groups such as the 6 enrolled in this course.  However, anyone interested in learning more about these features can join this blog. You can subscribe, or I can add you.  I will add the PP107 participants and if anyone else wants to join, you need to get a Posterous account, visit this blog, click on my profile, and from there you can subscribe to any blogs of mine you are interested in (but if you want to write here, you’ll have to let me know, and I can then add you).

Ok, let the F.U.N. begin.  Comment here if you wish or better, join the YahooGroup, and let us know there if you have any concerns, comments, or questions. I hope you enjoy the course.

Vance

My Me-Portfolio: http://advanceducation.blogspot.com

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    I was already registered in Posterous, even running a few blogs here for autoposting convenience, and just added this one to my reader. Since I’m in POTcert11 (mentoring) and signed up for Carol Yeager’s CML [?], this one will be lurking lite. Count on me though to pay host gift with occasional comments and responding. I can also run the occasional virtual errand but no eating any bugs

  2. Anonymous permalink

    <div dir="ltr">Thanks Vanessa, still waiting for the registered PP107 participants to arrive here. ??I like the way you can comment via email reply. ??I think that's one of the interesting features of Posterous that you have to experience to understand how this is different from other blogs. ??Also, this one will accept media directly uploaded. ??Blogger for example requires you to link to MP3s hosted elsewhere (last time I looked :-)<br> <br></div>

  3. Anonymous permalink

    Hope I’m not too late to join in. I’ve just discovered the #evomlit twitter hashtag and am in the Yahoo multilit group.I don’t see a mechanism to subscribe to the Posterous for this course.Anyway, looks like there is oodles of information I need to sort through to figure out what to do next. I’m looking forward to participating as best I can and to meeting fellow travelers in the coming days.Thanks for making this happen Vance.

  4. Anonymous permalink

    <html><body><div style="color:#000; background-color:#fff; font-family:times new roman, new york, times, serif;font-size:12pt"><div>The reply by email feature is a real deal maker for me – the more I can do from one page the better. I knew about media and document uploading. Auto-posting to other blog platforms and social media is&nbsp;another plus. Since uploaded docs embed in Scribd, I’m curious to see how they auto-posting to blog platforms that don’t upload docs – no doubt by posting the embed code like a video.&nbsp;</div><div><br></div><div>I also created&nbsp;corresponding Posterous blogs and set autoposting &nbsp;for all&nbsp;my Blogger blogs. On the other hand,&nbsp;I don’t care much for Posterous groups though ~ test drove with a local writing group ~ but, based on Posterous’ development, bet they will improve.</div><div><br></div><div style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: ‘times new roman’, ‘new york’, times, serif; "><div style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: ‘times new roman’, ‘new york’, times, serif; "><font size="2" face="Arial"></div></div></div></body></html>

  5. Anonymous permalink

    <div dir="ltr">I like the way email reply carries forward a conversation in Posterous. ??Feel free to experiment by making your own post here, see what you can embed or email attach. ??Have F.U.N.<br><br></div>

  6. teacherrogers permalink

    Hi Vance,I was just reading your collection of great articles and podcast on your Scoop.it page. I saw this post for the TESOL course. I was trying to remember what the acronym MOOC stands for! I took your course in the EVO 5-week session in spring and already forgot 😦 Please remind me and spell out the acronym in your post. Thanks,Sandra

  7. Anonymous permalink

    <div dir="ltr">Hi Sand,<div><br></div><div>I certainly appreciate all the great networking you are doing on behalf of evomlit.</div><div><br></div><div>MOOC stands for Massively Open Online Course. ??I've tweaked the acronym a bit to apply it to a course that is anything but massive, but is Miniscule. ??It still seems to work, thanks in part to the massive network that is lurking just beyond the small nexus of registered participants. ??Meanwhile Jeff Lebow has come up with an acronym that is outta site COOL (collaborative open online learning). ??He's already presided over two COOLcasts, though Stephen Downes has pointed out that he should have said Cooperative instead of collaborative. Whatever, and my comments on that appear elsewhere. ??Thanks again for remaining in (and promoting) our network. ^V^<br> <br></div></div>

  8. Anonymous permalink

    <html><body><div style="color:#000; background-color:#fff; font-family:times new roman, new york, times, serif;font-size:12pt"><div><span><span class="Apple-style-span" style="color: rgb(69, 69, 69); font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 18px; line-height: 24px; ">Coolloperative?</span></span></div><div><br></div><div style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: ‘times new roman’, ‘new york’, times, serif; "><div style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: ‘times new roman’, ‘new york’, times, serif; "><font size="2" face="Arial"></div></div></div></body></html>

  9. Anonymous permalink

    great article. I myself plan to follow a tesol course, but still wonder what kind of tesol course I should choose. my friends suggested me to take Tesol course in Bali to get the pleasure and inconvenience while learning, coz Bali is full of interesting places to visit. They said that I should visit http://www.tesolindo.com to get a high quality tesol course.

Leave a Reply

