Skip to content

Entry 2

February 1, 2010

It’s now week 4 of the Multiliteracies course and I’ve been a bit bogged down with work and so have only mangaged to get quick glances at what’s been going on. However, I’ve set up a Twitter account and Delcicious bookmarks and added a Wordle word cloud to the Wikispace we’ve set up at work to share ideas and resources with our teachers. Of these three ‘achievements’, I have to say Delicious seems the most useful; I seem to be finding so many different places of interest which I can come back to whether at work or at home. I also like the fact that you can share this with friends or colleagues. I haven’t really got into Twitter so much but I really liked Wordle, probably becuase it is easy to use and is visually appealing. One more thing to say is that I’ve liked Mark Pegrum’s videos and I’ll certainly be getting his book ‘From Blogs to Bombs’.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Vanessa Vaile permalink

    Although I’ve been testing the Diigo waters (and find the temperature agreeable and the waters pleasing), I have not neglected Delicious, the familiar bookmarking tool. Indeed, I’ve been finding new uses, ways to save online time (that I will no doubt use on some other online project). If you get into tweeting, you can tweet newly bookmarked sites from Delicious. And you can subscribe to bookmarks by bookmarker or by tag or both simultaneously. All so much easier to sort for later finding if you tag them ~ preferably when you save them. Then the problem is finding time to read that pile you’ve saved, sigh, which explains why I am up so late.

  2. Jennifer Verschoor permalink

    I have just been glancing through your wiki and you have added very interesting things. As regards Wordle I am giving a workshop soon on how to use Web 2.0 tools in the classrooms and Worlde is my favourite. You can check this link for more ideas on how to use Wordle <a href="http://www.slideshare.net/JenniferW/wordle-ideas&quot; target="_blank">http://www.slideshare.net/JenniferW/wordle-ideas</a&gt;.<br>Continue exploring and sharing this is the way we all learn.<br>Warm regards<br>Jennifer

  3. Maria Rosario Di M??naco permalink

    So it’s already week 4… I’m still struggling with week 2. But then, what really matters is that we are here, learning and sharing, or better, learning through sharing. BTW, your wordle and your wiki look great. Congrats!

  4. Yvonne Caples permalink

    I was inspired by your wikispace that you set up to share ideas and resources and after seeing your wordle cloud, I definitely want to try one. Thanks!

  5. Nina Liakos permalink

    I think it may be impossible for anyone to ever devote the time needed to really explore everything that is suggested during an EVO session. We are all bogged down. Life goes on (although for me, normal life has been suspended for a week due to the snowstorms here on the East Coast of the U.S.); there are lessons to plan and teach, papers to grade, email to read and respond to (unrelated to EVO!), meals to cook, family to attend to, etc. etc. etc. I confess I have also indulged in some non-EVO reading, practicing tai chi chuan (I am a very new beginner), reading the paper and occasionally watching TV…. despite all that I feel invigorated by everything that we are exploring and learning here at multiliteracies. This is such an amazing group of self-motivated learners!<br>@Jen, thanks for sharing the ppt with so many excellent ideas for Wordle!

Leave a Reply

