Skip to content

blogging v microblogging

January 30, 2010

Blogging, let me count the ways and the blogs. I maintain (run, operate, publish ~ whatever) a clutch of blogs. Does anyone know the correct collective would be? Blogs are a flexible medium. There is no single definition or standard model for content, let alone a single straight jacket definition. There are, however, misconceptions. I’ve heard most of them from people telling me what a blog is or sometimes what they think mine should be. I don’t keep a diary blog. Nor are any of my blogs primarily opinion blogs, political or otherwise, although I do express opinions, which I think of as the personal voice thing.

Three are community blogs, briefly described in the the order of their appearance. One is basically informational + opinion (aka critical review, analysis) + reportage with research and as much backstory, all in all rather a mix of posts, emphasis on arts and culture, on whatever interests me. Another straight announcements without editorializing. The most recent supplements my static web pages for quick updates, comments, etc. as an experiment to keep content fresh, save updating time since blogging is quicker and more efficient than updating a static website and make the site more interactive.

Somewhat related to the community blogs: a poetry blog created for a local annual poetry event that goes into event information mode for the event but is a an all-purpose poetry blog the rest of the year; a personal but community grounded blog, recently reactivated and snarkier than the other community blogs. It went into hibernation mode while I was maintaining the local Chamber of Commerce web page to protect their sensibilities and avoid conflict of interest, eg by making critical commentary.

There are inactive teaching blogs created for an afterschool program I am no longer active in, another active but private (limited to class) created for an online ESL course that morphed over time into an online study group. It’s a group blog: every student in the class/group is a contributor. Another, the one that I reblog these evomlit reflection posts is – loosely – about the intersection of computers, teaching, writing, and language.

I contribute and have admin status for a blog for an national adjunct and contingent faculty advocacy group I am involved with. It’s not my blog but I write most of the posts as well as anything on tech/ design & layout end.

Microblogging would be tweeting in various manifestations and extensions that include syncing, retweeting, tweetmeme or whatever I am using that turns blog posts into tweets and Fcbk links. I’m relatively new to tweeting but enjoying it. I have two accounts, one under my name, @VanessaVaile at http://twitter.com/VanessaVaile and the other for the faculty advocacy group, @NewFacMajority at http://twitter.com/NewFacMajority. Both support websites, with @VanessaVaile supporting multiple sites. I’m still in learning about and test driving mode.

Although I’ve been bookmarking pages on using Twitter in teaching and course management and sending them to Beyza as well as sharing EdTech list email on the subject, I can’t honestly say I have a clear sense yet of how I would use plain vanilla twitter teaching other than for quick announcements. I am getting glimmers of sorts about using Twibe but need to spend more time with it.

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Michael Shade permalink

    Vanessa – your discussion of how you use blogs confirms what I have felt all along – a blog is a publishing platform, you can use it how you like. This post is prompting me to do something similar – set out what I use blogs for – but I think I’ll have to have lunch first :-)<br><br>Could you add links to the blogs you mention in this post? Or the ones you don’t mind us looking at, at least?

  2. Mariel Amez permalink

    WOW, Vanessa!<br>Do you ever get any sleep?<br>I would also appreciate some links, if you don’t mind.

  3. Vance Stevens permalink

    I’ve just read this because I read this post on the evomlit Ygroup list: <a href="http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/multilit/message/1044&quot; target="_blank">http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/multilit/message/1044</a&gt;. Now I’m heading over to read Michael’s rejoinder, having F.U.N., vance

  4. Vanessa Vaile permalink

    @Michael &amp; @Mariel ~ Oh OK, blog links. I’ve been organizing tag sets, one for an event and another for two online classes still in groups. I think most are listed on my Google profile, <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.google.com/profiles/vanessa.87036&quot; target="_blank">http://www.google.com/profiles/vanessa.87036</a&gt;, which is probably as close as I’ve gotten to a portal page. The class one is private ~ a safe place for emerging writers

  5. Vanessa Vaile permalink

    @Mariel ~ sleeping, that’s what I was doing last week when MIA for evomlit… and binge tagging. Oh yes, and I started another twitter acct for the poetry event blog. Soon my head will be spinning… that or explode. Speaking of sleeping or not: no way I can see any of us can ever catch up with Vance. Which / what kind of links?

  6. Vanessa Vaile permalink

    I’m more comfortable with blogs and blogging than with but that has a lot to do with familiarity. I think about wiki and have done the occasional page here and there. On Weheads and with Beyza’s classes ~ she invites me to join them on their class wiki. But I still have not done enough to reach that easy with stage. Maybe this year. I said that last year, but if I keep saying it ~ make a someday appointment with myself ~ eventually I’ll get to it. One "someday" took me over 20 years to get back to. I should probably try for sooner.

  7. Nina Liakos permalink

    Interesting, Vanessa. I too have had a lot of blogs but not as interesting a variety as you. Blogs are the tool that resonated the most with me when I first took Becoming a Webhead in 2006. I am still more likely to have students do blogs than wikis. A colleague of mine just can’t get enthusiastic about blogs but does incredibly amazing things with wikis (class wikis and student wikis). Different stroke for different folks. There are certainly plenty of apps to go around!

Leave a Reply

