Skip to content

(M)iGoogle and other aggregator pages

January 28, 2010

I have a fairly packed iGoogle page as well as a similarly decked out Yahoo main page that I never look at. I have a Netvibes account/naked page. I’m not sure about Pageflakes, seems slow loading ~ to much Flash. ProtoPage looks promising and is faster loading, which is what I like best about iGoogle… nimble and fleet of foot.

Sticking with iGoogle for now even if it may lack “portfolioness.” I’ll dance with the one that I came with…

Media_httpapiningcom8_pqhlq

But I will reflect on the difference between a work station home page and an e-portfolio as well as what to add to the page to make it more like a portfolio…. not to mention how that might affect its primary function. I’ll check this page, http://maketecheasier.com/customize-igoogle-homepage/2010/01/24, and others like it.

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Hanaa Khamis permalink

    Hmmm looks very nice Vanessa.. I tried PageFlakes & couldn’t make much progress with it… Let me try iGoogle out… If it works, I’ll owe you one:)

  2. Vanessa Vaile permalink

    I suspect that portfolio and portal pages, like any web site / blog/ set of course pages are best when organic but cultivated, which includes weeding and watering. That takes time. I want to try other platforms (would that be the right term?) too ~ can’t make an informed call without test driving them<br><br>@Hanaa ~ thnx, my next step (that I wrote a couple of paragraphs about that got lost – sure wish Ning had auto-save built in) is to try out and add a few features to make more portfolio.<br><br>@ Vance ~ finding out how to publish, getting a shareable link would make a good project for today. I haven’t played around with tabs but multiple pages (or at least two) might be the way to configure public / private spaces<br><br>My requirements are as much for community and other project networking space as for teaching ~ with space for all under the same e-roof since they all overlap to some some extent

  3. Hanaa Khamis permalink

    Vance … can u Speed Geek on setting up a PageFlake sometime down the line? I really liked it but got stuck with creating my own ‘pagecasts’/ I could only choose from a preselected lists of sites… What am I missing?

  4. Vance Stevens permalink

    I had a look at the Make Tech Easier link but it didn’t mention publishing your iGoogle page. I notice in your post you have also not given out a public link for it. Can it be made available to others, and so act as a shareable e-portfolio?<br><br>Personally I like Pageflakes, but then I haven’t really tinkered with the others. Here is my Pageflakes portal:<br><a href="http://www.pageflakes.com/vancestevens/13491441&quot; target="_blank">http://www.pageflakes.com/vancestevens/13491441</a><br><br>I do NOT like the "sponsored context" (ad) in the upper right hand corner (I think they’ve expanded that, not so noticeable before). However, I like the way it gives you tabs which you can develop and even publish each in its own right. For example, at the above link you can click on the Multiliteracies tab or its direct link <a href="http://www.pageflakes.com/vancestevens/13498617&quot; target="_blank">http://www.pageflakes.com/vancestevens/13498617</a&gt;. You get that link by publishing your pageflake (any tab) as a ‘pagecast’.

  5. Michael Shade permalink

    Vanessa – you’ve got me looking at iGoogle again – I set one up a couple of years ago but don’t seem to have looked at it since. I’ve been using a static web page (public) to keep all my links to my own stuff, and haven’t yet been persuaded by any of the ‘dynamic’ alternatives.<br><br>I have the same question as Vance – my iGoogle address appears to be: <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.google.com/ig&quot; target="_blank">http://www.google.com/ig</a&gt; – and then I log in as myself and get my own page. All well and good – but how do you make it – or bits of it (Tabs?) – public?<br><br>And on the principle that if Vance uses it, it must be worth a look, I’ll have another try at Pageflakes too.

  6. Vanessa Vaile permalink

    I can share iGoogle with specified individuals but not publish it. OK so it’s still workstation.I need one surely as much as an e-portfolio. PageFlakes does look good, but I may stick with a static page ~ I do have one even if I don’t spend much time there. On this year’s intention list, update, widgetize and coordinate with social media. Like life, a good portfolio takes developing: it evolves organically ~ and continually, never finishing (at least not in one’s lifetime).<br><br>PLN (Personal Learning Network) and PKM &amp; LP (Personal Knowledge Management and Learning Plan) concepts intrigue me (assuming of course the manageability of knowledge)<br><br>I came across and bookmarked an e-portfolio site that might do ~ Visual CV. <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.visualcv.com/www/quickstart/index.html&quot; target="_blank">http://www.visualcv.com/www/quickstart/index.html</a&gt;

  7. Vanessa Vaile permalink

    @Vance ~ Some sites tailor ads to content better and more aesthetically than others. More than a few will change the ad if you tell them it does not suit. Of course, you may not like the next any better, but it’s worth a try. All they can do is say no ~ or just ignore you.<br><br>I wonder how a wiki with widgets would do as a portal page.

  8. Nina Liakos permalink

    @Vance, No, I don’t like that ad on your Pageflakes either (the lady in the bikini is particularly offensive, and it took me a while to realize you hadn’t put her there). Eventually, the creators of free stuff want to make some money on their creations…. you can’t blame them, but I don’t want their ads on my page! And I don’t want to pay for a page, either. Hmmmm.

  9. Nina Liakos permalink

    I am struggling with the ePortfolio concept. Can’t figure out which portal to choose. I want to explore googlios, also thinking about ProtoPage and Pageflakes. Netvibes? Arrgghhh. Too many choices! I like my iGoogle homepage, but it isn’t sharable. I don’t think. Anyway I wouldn’t want to share it–it has my email inbox on it!

Leave a Reply

