Skip to content

Social Networks!

January 13, 2010

After having watch the 1st video by Michael, it came to my mind the below comics from our local newspaper (La Voz del Interior, Cordoba, http://lavozonline.com.ar)
Social Networks are (for the time being for students) tools just for “socializing” (what an invention on my side!!), they don’t see the real potencial they have. I’m a Fbck addict and though I also socialize, I’ve found interesting discussion groups, amazing people and incredible pages! Not to mention allllllllll the applications!!! I hope that after this session we can get to exploit more those networks so as to maximize their contents in a good and great way!
Though one of the comics is in my native language (Spanish), the other one doesn’t need explanation. In the Spanish one, a lady goes to a fortuneteller to know about her future… and the fortuneteller says all the lady wants to know; but at the end the fortuneteller says “It’s not that difficult: I only had to write “Florinda Betinotti” (the lady’s name) in Facebook and Google”!
Best regards to you all, Maria, Argentina πŸ™‚

Media_httpapiningcom8_boijw

Media_httpapiningcom8_diady

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Barbara Dieu permalink

    This is a fun cartoon strip, Maria and I think it illustrates well the times we are living in. check this article which came out at the beginning of the year <a rel="nofollow" href="%20http://www.techcrunch.com/2009/12/30/we-all-live-in-public/" target="_blank"><br></a><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.techcrunch.com/2009/12/30/we-all-live-in-public/&quot; target="_blank">http://www.techcrunch.com/2009/12/30/we-all-live-in-public/</a&gt; . It echoes your cartoon :-)<br><br>I don’t use Facebook with my students for classes – many add me and sometimes we socialize but I completely agree with a friend, <a rel="nofollow" href="http://monitorhypothesis.typepad.com/esl/2008/07/facebook-and-i.html&quot; target="_blank">who has finished her blog post on Facebook by saying</a>: " taking away this SOCIAL space from students and turning it into an EDUCATIONAL space would be a crime."

  2. Maria Bossa permalink

    Shokran Hanna! πŸ™‚

  3. Hanaa Khamis permalink

    Lovely comics Maria!

  4. Maria Bossa permalink

    Hi Barbara, thanks for your comment and for the 2 links! I read them and wow… very interesting! When I mentioned Facebook for Education purposes, I really meant that students can take advantage of group discussions, but "serious" group discussions, not like "who is knocking on my door tonight"!! I belong to some good groups and fan pages and the discussions are awesome. We learn a lot and share ideas.<br>I agree with you and the 2 articles about the massive use of these social networks (Fcbk, in this case) and that students post silly things so I think it’s also our duty to teach and help them take the best part of the network!!<br>It’s great to talk to you! Best regards from hot and sunny Argenina, Maria πŸ™‚

  5. Nina Liakos permalink

    I now have two FB accounts: one for the fan page created for my institute (boring!) and my main one. I used to allow students to friend me but then decided that was more appropriate when they became former students. Using Twitter and Twibes more has decreased my Facebook activity somewhat. I just can’t do everything!

  6. Maria Bossa permalink

    Though some of my students are in my FCBK, I dont participate a lot in their interactions nor they in mine as I post all in English and their level is not that high. I dont post incorrect stuff or anything that may be harmful. Sometimes, they write silly comments in English so as to show they can speak and I value that.<br>As far as Twitter / Twibes… I still need to get used to them!!!<br>Thanks for the comments, regards, Maria πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

